Today is an absolutely beautiful day! I have had the windows open all morning enjoying the cool breeze flowing through my house! I love this time of year!  As this fall season begins, I always find myself getting so excited for what’s to come – cool weather, pumpkin patches, baking, holidays… These next few months are my favorite! I have put out some fall decor around my house, which always seems to make it extra cozy, but what really did it was what I baked up yesterday…Iced Pumpkin Raisin Cookies! Y-to the- UM!! My step sis passed this recipe on to me and I was so excited to try it! They could not be more perfect! I am going to share the recipe in case you feel the need for a little more yummy fall in your house! :)

Iced Pumpkin Raisin Cookies

1 stick of butter, softened
1 c. sugar
1 c. pumpkin puree
1 t. ground cinnamon
1 t. vanilla extract
1/2 t. fresh ground nutmeg
1/2 t. ground cloves
1 1/2 t. fresh squeezed lemon juice (save rest of juice and zest for icing)
1 1/2 t. fresh squeezed orange juice (save rest of juice and zest for icing)
2 c. all-purpose flour
1 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1 c. raisins

In a medium bowl, mix the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder and set aside. In a separate bowl, beat the rest of the ingredients with an electric mixer just until smooth. Slowly add the flour mixture to the bowl and beat just until combined. Stir in the raisins.

Drop by spoonfuls on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for about 12-15 minutes. (Since oven temps vary, time may be more or less. My sister’s oven only took 8-10 minutes, mine took about 15. Just keep an eye on them.)

While the cookies are baking, prepare the icing :) In a medium bowl, stir together 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 t. vanilla, leftover juice from lemon and orange, and some zest from the lemon and orange. You can make this whatever consistency you prefer by adding more or less juice. I prefer it more like a glaze, so I keep it on the runnier side.

After the cookies are done baking, let them sit on the baking sheet for a minute, then remove them to a wire rack and allow to cool. Once cookies have cooled completely, spoon the icing over the cookies and allow to harden. Lastly, enjoy the wonderful deliciousness of fall!! :)

Hope you enjoy this recipe! Let me know if you make them and if you loved them as much as I do! :)

