So I will start this out with my deal today :)

I made a quick trip into Walgreens to get some goods. They had Soft Scrub on sale BOGO…and I just happened to have (2) BOGO Soft Scrub coupons…which would make all four of the bottles free (have to remember tax though) :) So, my end result was 4 bottles of Soft Scrub for a grand total of $ .48. Making them only $ .12 a bottle! :) My total savings were $15.96. Gotta love a deal! :)

In other news…I am proud to say that I finally made my very first diaper cake! Woohoo! I have been waiting for a baby shower (heehee) so that I could try my hand at it. So I was happy when I received an invite for a shower for a girl from my church! I was a little nervous in taking on this task. I have only seen two in my life – the one my sister-in-law made for me and the one she made for my other sister-in-law (who just happened to have the most adorable little guy, Tanner! We got to visit them yesterday, and I loved every minute of snuggling with him! Although Riley wasn’t too fond of it!) :) But anyway…I had been looking at all different websites, and I could not find any kind of “how-to’s” for the type I wanted to make. There is an easier version, but I just don’t like the way it looks compared to the way I wanted to make it. So after talking to my sis-in-law, I kinda felt somewhat comfortable with going at it. So, as soon as Riley went down for his nap, I started. And, I am glad to say, it was a piece of cake! Haha, no pun intended ;) After some help from my wonderful and surprisingly creative step-dad, we pulled it all together! He helped me figure out some of the technical details. After all the hot-glueing and taping and decorating, I was in awe of how beautiful it was! :) Even now, I can’t stop looking at it!  And the best part, I had so much fun doing it! I really might consider trying to make these to sell!  The whole reason my sis-in-law got into making them (although she doesn’t sell them, just makes them for gifts) is because she saw one in a boutique and they wanted like $125 for it! She thought, “gosh, I can make that!” So she did!  I love making them! (So I am secretly waiting for lots of lots of baby showers!) :) If I could sell them that would be awesome! So..I will post a pic of my very first (and what I think is adorable) diaper cake! :)

Now to the baking part…

For the shower I am attending tomorrow morning, I offered to make a Blueberry Crumb Coffee Cake! Doesn’t that sound delicious!? It’s Ina Garten’s recipe…so I’m sure it’s going to be delish! So here it is, 11:30 pm and I am still baking it! There’s nothing like waiting until the last minute, huh? Well, so at 9:45 I decided I wanted to use a certain pan, a 9″ springform pan, but I didn’t have one. So I call our Neighborhood Walmart to see if they carry them. Nope. So I say to Stephen, “Can I make it to Target?” He looked at me like I was kinda crazy, then said, “Go! I’ll call them to tell them to wait for you!” I jump in my car, speed down the road, and almost get into an accident. But hey! I need THIS pan! I pull into the Target parking lot, the guy locking the doors gives me the thumbs-up, and I run inside. He asked if I knew where it was and I said yes. I then proceed to run through the store. Yes, run. I have my loud sandals on so my feet are clapping against the ground with every step. I find the pan and hear on the walkie “the girl with the pan is here!” I then proceed to run back through the store to the register. I pass an employee and as I run by her she says into her walkie “she’s on her way to the register.” Haha, I feel like I’m on some kind of obstacle course or something. I get to the register, pay for my pan, and run to the door. I graciously thank the manager who let me slip in, and he smiled and said “Happy Baking!” That put a smile on my face! :)  My crumb cake is happily baking away in the oven and smelling deliciously tempting! So…that is my wonderful baking story! :) Fingers-crossed it turns out okay!

I’ll let you know! :)

